The church is on one of Óbidos' most picturesque streets
Formerly the “Chapel of the Holy Spirit,” it became known as the Church of Mercy or of the Almshouse since 1498, when Queen Leonor founded the local almshouse. It was rebuilt in the 17th century, and was the place of worship of the sick and the poor, many of them hospitalized in the baroque annex. Today it’s more a museum than a place of worship, exhibiting several works of art.
Inside the church, which doubles as a gallery
There are wooden 17th-century sculptures of the Virgin, a painted flag from 1592, a painted ceiling showing the Royal Crown, and the tomb of the Countess of Cavaleiros. The interior is completely covered in hand-painted blue and yellow tiles from between 1625 and 1678, while the Mannerist retable is covered in gold leaf. It also displays paintings from between 1628 and 1630.
Outside, notice the ceramic image of the Virgin and Child on the portal, dating from 1665. There’s also a large cross standing in front, faced by a curious brick building with a gothic door and windows, which was home to Obidos’ synagogue.
The church is closed on Thursdays. On all other days it usually opens from 9:30am to 12:30pm and from 2:30pm to 5pm.